A Rainy Night

a novel, page 3
Their voices and laughs continue. They sound unfamiliar, except for the ones I have known, and the deep one, is just a voice. I cannot lie here any longer. My head starts pounding. I cannot recall when was the last time I laughed, or when was the last time that I smiled. Only if I can sneak out now to the back door . . . oh how I miss the waves this night. I want to run and run. I want to watch the waves. I want to let them enter my mind rather than listening to talks and laughs, and I look out the window, sky appears black without clouds.
I can hear them, from the bedroom door to the hallway all the way to the living room are a few steps. This place is small, but enough to accommodate the four of us. I remember how they agreed with me to rent this house by the beach because we are fond of the ocean. Yet it has been a year and not once that Nate taken a walk with me along the beach. I do not remember if we had ever walked together anywhere, just the two of us, except he likes to walk to the mall with friends, and maybe tomorrow, he will offer to take these strangers to the mall. That is his love, shopping. I thought that only women would like to shop, but Nate, I think he shops even more than Karie. They have known each other since after graduating from high school. Because of Karie, that’s how I met Nate. Because of Brent, that’s how I met Karie. Because of me being dragged into a bar, by a friend after finishing college, that’s how I met Brent. And somehow is always the night time that I meet friends or acquaintances. It was a night 5 years ago, sometimes in summer, that I met Brent at a bar. We sat down at a table with his friends and Karie. She looked at me that night without a blink. She did not say any word to me, but after a while, she smiled and the next day, Nate showed up at my door, saying that Karie wanted him to go out with me. Maybe I was lonely, maybe I was on a rebound, so I went out with Nate without a second thought. From that night and more nights, he came by every night until I moved in with him. Perhaps I should not meet people at night ever.

Published by

waterdove

Besides the love for arts, I am fascinated with words that depicted the human mind and heart. I live in southern California and spend all free time when not working to dream, read, write, draw, and paint. Please note that all my writings on Wordpress are unedited since I write the words as they appear in mind at the moment.

3 thoughts on “A Rainy Night”

  1. Meeting people at night is not a good idea. I feel for the character and this Nate guy sounds like he doesn’t have a curiosity about anything or anyone. He seems like he cares about himself. I could be wrong on this one…but I’m hoping to read the 4th novel in your series. 🙂

    You are such a gifted soul. Keep on writing my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

