A Rainy Heart

A novel, page 5

Somehow, I could not remember what had taken place after I walked away from him that night. I could not recall if minutes or an hour had gone by, and what really happened? Did he stay there, talking to someone or his friends, or even where Nate, Karie, and Brent could have been or doing what? Or did the two glasses of wine made me forget? What did I do?
The night goes on. The strangers leave at the same time. Nate, Brent and Karie say goodnight to the guests outside while I remain inside, gathering the glasses on the table. Steps approaching, is him and he’s coming to me during this time when all are outside.
“When are you going to leave him?” He says.
His eyes appear calm, almost gentle just as earlier. Why the same question when you know I won’t answer because I think you’re insane and why you don’t introduce yourself? You think I will answer to your nonsense when I don’t know who you’re. Don’t know you, and what is your name by the way? Are you teasing and this is how you approach a woman with this manner? But then he’s not smiling, not smirking. He says it moderately, as if he really feels his words. If he’s not joking then he must think I am someone he used to know and I need to tell him tonight is the first time I ever met him, so he can drop all this and I am about to say something, but then he leaves without me saying. I watch as he steps outside. He walks alone. His friends waive from the car, and he walks there. He does not turn. He does not need to look back, and I need not be looking at him from this window. Can he see me, here at the window? Something about the way he walks that makes me continue to see him enter one of the cars. As that car begins to drive off I see his face close by the rear window. He looks at the house, at us, at Nate, Brent, Karie and waives. I want to waive for no reason, yet I have no reason to waive since I don’t know him and haven’t said a word. Too far for me to see how his eyes settle but I imagine he must have looked down on his way back to the motel where the group is staying. So, this is it then. This night ends now and stranger, you’re my past. It’s good after all I did not say a word. It’s better that I remained silent so you now don’t have a reason to ask more questions as you have left. I know Nate won’t take me out to join you or the group in the morning even if you and your friends invite us because you have no idea how Nate predicted things the last one week. Hoping you don’t call Karie and Brent, and if you do just please don’t ask us to come along because if you follow me again then you’re not the one to bear the night and all the nights that I must endure.

Published by

waterdove

Besides the love for arts, I am fascinated with words that depicted the human mind and heart. I live in southern California and spend all free time when not working to dream, read, write, draw, and paint. Please note that all my writings on Wordpress are unedited since I write the words as they appear in mind at the moment.

Leave a Reply

