Good Books?

Hello my friends, readers and writers, I’ve been wanting to read few good novels the last one year but can’t find the ones that keep me going. Do you have suggestions for me? My all time favorite books are The Great Gatsby, The Awakening, Mrs. Dalloway, The Hours, Jude the Obscure, The Reader, Good Morning Midnight, Call Me by Your Name, Housekeeping, Under the Tuscan Sun…Do you know of great novels that were written in the last decade?  As a writer, I must read in order to improve my writing skills.  The books you recommend, I shall read.  Thank you.

Published by

waterdove

Besides the love for arts, I am fascinated with words that depicted the human mind and heart. I live in southern California and spend all free time when not working to dream, read, write, draw, and paint. Please note that all my writings on Wordpress are unedited since I write the words as they appear in mind at the moment.

18 thoughts on “Good Books?”

  1. From the novels you’ve listed above, I don’t know that you would like my recommendations. However, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens is an all-time classic and one of my favorites. Also, Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky is another, as well as Till We Have Faces by C. S. Lewis and, more recently Byzantium by Stephen Lawhead. You should be able to check out any of the above from your local library so it won’t cost you any money, but I would suggest flipping through the pages and spot reading before diving into any of them because, like I said, your taste and mine might be totally different! All the best to you in your hunt for another good novel… Perhaps other readers will have better suggestions. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like you, I read mostly the old classics. My favourite Thomas Hardy is “Far From the Madding Crowd”.
    A book that I enjoyed more recently is “The Goldfinch” by Donna Tartt. It won the Pullitzer prize in 2014.
    I really enjoyed “The Martian” by Andy Weir, which he published himself in 2011. (This was later made into a movie.)
    Good Luck on your quest. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you read Picture of Dorian Gray or Turn of the Screw or Great Expectations or Jane Eyre- I can recommend them based on what you said you liked. And someone above mentioned Dostoevsky- he’s perfect since you liked Jude. As for more recent novels, I can recommend Shadow of the Wind, Book thief and Thousand splendid suns- they’re not that recent, but they are amazing! I hope some of these help!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

